FIFA World Cup Golden Ball (Best Player) Winners List 1930-2014.

The FIFA World CupGolden Ball” award is presented to the best player at each FIFA World Cup finals. The award was introduced in the 1982 FIFA World Cup, sponsored by Adidas and France Football, though FIFA also lists in their player articles as “golden ball winners”.

The FIFA World Cup Golden Ball is the award which is given to the best player of this competition. As the name suggests, the trophy is golden in an appearance.

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners Full List 1930-2014.>>
FIFA World Cup Golden Ball (Best Player) Winners List 1930-2014:
World CupWinnerCountry
2014 BrazilLionel MessiArgentina
2010 South AfricaDiego ForlanUruguay
2006 GermanyZinedine ZidaneFrance
2002 Korea/JapanOliver KahnGermany
1998 FranceRonaldoBrazil
1994 United StatesRomarioBrazil
1990 ItalySalvatore SchillaciItaly
1986 MexicoDiego MaradonaArgentina
1982 SpainPaolo RossiItaly
1978 ArgentinaMario KempesArgentina
1974 West GermanyJohan CruyffNetherlands
1970 MexicoPeleBrazil
1966 EnglandBobby CharltonEngland
1962 ChileGarrinchaBrazil
1958 SwedenDidiBrazil
1954 SwitzerlandFerenc PuskasHungary
1950 BrazilZizinhoBrazil
1938 FranceLeonidasBrazil
1934 ItalyGiuseppe MeazzaItaly
1930 UruguayJose NasazziUruguay

However, the technical committee of FIFA makes shortlist of best players throughout the competition and the winner voted for by representatives of the media. Those who finish as runners-up in the vote receive the Silver Ball and Bronze Ball awards as the second and third best or outstanding players in the tournament respectively.

The Golden ball should not be confused with the Golden Boot. Golden Boot is presented to the top goal scorer of FIFA World Cup. whereas Golden ball award is given to the best player based on his performance.

Golden Ball Maximum Award Winners by Nation:

The Brazil footballers have won maximum Golden ball awards in the history of FIFA World Cup. From Brazil nation, 7 players have won it Leonidas, Zizinho, Didi, Romario, Garrincha, Pele, Ronaldo.

In last tournament “2014 Brazil“, the Argentina player Lionel Messi was awarded this award. From Germany, there is only one player Thomas Muller who won Silver Ball award in last world cup. Netherland’s Arjen Robben is the player who won the Bronze Ball award in 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Golden Boot (Golden Shoe)
Golden Boot (Golden Shoe) Winners Full List 1930-2014.
List of FIFA World Cup Winners>>
FIFA World Cup winners list
FIFA World Cup winners list, finals matches, final score and the finalists.
World Cup Winners Result By Nation.>>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *