FIFA World Cup Golden Gloves Winner List 1930-2014.

FIFA Golden Glove is the award which is given to the best goalkeeper of FIFA World Cup at the end of the tournament. The award was introduced with the name Lev Yashin Award in 1994. It was first awarded in the world cup of 1994.

FIFA Technical Study Group selects the best goalkeeper of the tournament based on the player’s performance throughout the final competition.

Although goalkeepers have this specific award for their position, they are also eligible for winning golden ball which is given to the best player whether he is striker, midfielder, defender of a goalkeeper.

FIFA World Cup Golden Gloves Winner List 1930-2014:
World Cup GoalKeeper Country
2014 Brazil Manuel Neuer Germany
2010 South Africa Iker Casillas Spain
2006 Germany Gianluigi Buffon Italy
2002 South Korea Oliver Kahn Germany
1998 France Fabien Barthez France
1994 United States Michel Preud’homme Belgium
1990 Italy Luis Gabelo Conejo,
Sergio Goycochea
Costa Rica, Argentina
1986 Mexico Jean-Marie Pfaff Belgium
1982 Spain Dino Zoff Italy
1978 Argentina Ubaldo Fillol Argentina
1974 West Germany Sepp Maier Germany
1970 Mexico Ladislao Mazurkiewicz Uruguay
1966 England Gordon Banks England
1962 Chile Viliam Schrojf Czechoslovakia
1958 Sweden Harry Gregg Northern Ireland
1954 Switzerland Gyula Grosics Hungary
1950 Brazil Roque Maspoli Uruguay
1938 France Frantisek Planicka Czechoslovakia
1934 Italy Ricardo Zamora Spain
1930 Uruguay Enrique Ballestrero Uruguay

Although the Golden Glove Award was first awarded in 1994. Before this, the best goalkeepers were being listed on All-star team.

List of FIFA World Cup Winners, finals matches, final score and the finalists.>>

The Yashin Award was first awarded in 1994. However, the award was renamed the Golden Glove Award in 2010.

Uruguay’s  Enrique Ballesteros was the first player to win this award in 1930. The Spani’s captain Iker Casillas was the first goalkeeper who was awarded this trophy with a new name Golden Glove.

FIFA selects the best goalkeeper based on the performance of the player in the World Cup. So far from 1930-2014, we have 19 best goalkeepers of each world cup. However, Two Golden Glove award winner, 4 Yashin Award winner and 14 goalkeepers included in the all-star team.

Golden Ball Winner List
Golden Ball Winner List.
World Cup Winners Result By Nation.>>
Golden Boot (Golden Shoe)
Golden Boot (Golden Shoe) Winners Full List 1930-2014.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *