IPL 2018 Winner “CSK”, List of IPL Trophy winner from 2008-2018.

IPL 2018 Winner Chennai Super Kings:

Chennai Super Kings won their third IPL trophy, CSK won 2010, 2011, 2018 editions of the IPL.

CSK  defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad to clinch their third IPL title. Super Kings chased down 178 runs in 18.3 overs and won by 8 wickets. Shane Watson scored 117 runs in 57 balls with 11 fours and 8 sixes.


Teams finishing second in league phase lifting IPL title:

CSK in 2011 & 2018.
KKR in 2012 & 2014.
MI in 2013 & 2015.

Rajasthan Royals2008Chennai Super KingsWon by 3 wickets Shane Watson
Deccan Chargers 2009Royal Challengers BangaloreWon by 6 runSAdam Gilchrist
Chennai Super Kings2010Mumbai IndiansWon by 22 runsSachin Tendulkar
Chennai Super Kings2011Royal Challengers BangaloreWon by 58 runsChris Gayle
Kolkata Knight Riders2012Chennai Super KingsWon by 5 wicketsSunil Narine
Mumbai Indians2013Chennai Super KingsWon by 23 runsShane Watson
Kolkata Knight Riders2014Kings XI PunjabWon by 3 wickets Glenn Maxwell[
Mumbai Indian2015Chennai Super KingsWon by 41 runsAndre RusselL
Sunrisers Hyderabad2016Royal Challengers BangaloreWon by 8 runsVirat Kohli
Mumbai Indians2017Rising Pune SupergiantWon by 1 runBen Stokes
Chennai Super Kings2018Sunrisers HyderabadWon by 8 WicketsKane Williamson

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a domestic, Twenty20 cricket tournament in India, organized by the IPL Governing Council, under the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It is the most watched Twenty20 tournament and the second best paying sporting league globally.

2008 First Season of IPL Winner Rajasthan Royals
Rajasthan Royals 2008 IPL Winner
Rajasthan Royals 2008 IPL Winner

Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals won in the first ever season of the IPL. Rajasthan Royals(RR) finished on top of the IPL table. In the final fight against Chennai Super Kings, which they won by 3 wickets.

Rajasthan Royals scored 164/7 (20 overs) and Chennai Super Kings scored 163/5 (20 overs) the match was held at DY Patil Stadium.

Record for scoring most number of 500-plus runs in IPL season.>>

2009-Deccan Chargers

After finishing at the bottom of the table in 2008, Adam Gilchrist led Deccan Chargers turned things around for themselves in 2009. Deccan Chargers scripting an incredible win against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Johannesburg.

Deccan Chargers scored 143/6 (20 overs) and Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 137/9 (20 overs). Deccan Chargers won 2009 IPL by 6 runs.

2010-Chennai Super Kings

After reaching Finals for the second time in 3 seasons, Chennai Super Kings finally won the IPL 2010 edition by beating Mumbai Indians by 22 runs.

Chennai Super Kings scored 168/5 (20 overs) and Mumbai Indians scored 146/9 (20 overs). However, Chennai Super Kings won by 22 runs the match was played at DY Patil Stadium. Sachin Tendulkar became the player of the tournament.

2011-Chennai Super Kings

Again Chennai Super Kings made it two in two after winning the 2011 IPL title as well. This time they beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs in the final at the MA Chidambaram stadium, Chennai.

Super Kings scored 205/5 (20 overs) and Royal Challengers Bangalore 147/8 (20 overs). Chennai Super Kings won by 58 runs. Chris Gayle was the player of the tournament.

Fastest ICC World Cup century in one-day international cricket>>

2012-Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders won their maiden IPL title in 2012 beating Chennai Super Kings who reached final for three consecutive times and denying their hat-trick of IPL titles. Gautam Gambhir turned things around for KKR since taking over as captain.

Knight Riders scored 192/5 (19.4 overs) whereas Chennai Super Kings scored 190/3 (20 overs). KKR won by 5 wickets, matched was held at M. A. Chidambaram Stadium. Sunil Narine became the player of the series.

2013-Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings once again finished runners-up as Mumbai Indians won their first title at the iconic Eden Gardens. Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs.

Mumbai Indians scored 148/9 (20 overs) and Chennai Super Kings 125/9 (20 overs). MI won by 23 runs, Shane Watson was awarded as the player of the series.

Youngest Player to Score IPL Century.>>

2014-Kolkata Knight Riders

Gautam Gambhir led side went from strength to strength to win their second title in IPL. However, KKR beat Kings XI Punjab in the final, chasing 200 runs for a win at Bengaluru M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Kolkata Knight Riders scored 200/7 (19.3 overs) and Kings XI Punjab scored 199/4 (20 overs). KKR won by 3 wickets, whereas Glenn Maxwell was awarded as the player of the series.

2015-Mumbai Indian

For the second time, Mumbai Indian won the IPL trophy. They beat Chennai Super Kings in the finals at Eden Gardens to win 2015 IPL.

Mumbai Indians scored 202/5 (20 overs) whereas  Chennai Super Kings managed to score 161/8 (20 overs). MI won by 41 runs at Eden Gardens. Andre Russell was awarded as the player of the season.

2016-Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner led Sunrisers Hyderabad won their maiden IPL trophy by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Virat Kohli was the leading run-getter of the 2016 season.

Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 208/7 (20 overs) whereas Royal Challengers Bangalore scored only 200/7 (20 overs). Won by 8 runs,  Virat Kohli was the player of the season.

2017-Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians created history by winning the IPL trophy for the three times. Moreover, Rohit Sharma became the first captain to lead a side to the title on three occasions.

Fastest century by an Indian batsman in one-day international cricket>>

However, Mumbai Indians batting first scored 129/8 (20 overs) whereas Rising Pune Supergiant managed to score 128/6 (20 overs). Won by 1 run at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium. Ben Stokes was the player of the series in the 2017 IPL.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is easily the best and most competitive T20 cricket league in the world. And because the level of competition is high and the format is the way it is. Winning the IPL is by no means an easy. The team has to win the qualifiers and Eliminator to even qualify for the Final.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *